Deepika looks forward to image makeover in 2013

Her sexy, bold and outspoken avatar as Veronica in "Cocktail" left the audience spell-bound, but now actress Deepika Padukone is looking forward to shed that glamorous image with her forthcoming projects.

"The year 2013 is an exciting year and it would be interesting to see how it pans out. Yes, I have played many glamorous roles till now, but if you see the line-up for the rest of the year, I am sure this will change. The audiences will see me in an all new avatar this year," Deepika told IANS.

From films to endorsements, model-turned-actress Deepika, who is daughter of badminton player Prakash Padukone, has today managed to make a place for herself among the top actresses of the industry.

Talking about her film journey so far, she said: "It has been a good learning experience, especially the last one year - with the kind of people I have met and the films I have been doing."

She hopes this year will be a turning point.

"The year 2013 will be an important year for me. With the kind of films that are lined up, I hope it turns out to good for me. I have been working hard for the last six months," she said.

For now, her glam look will continue in the racy "Race 2".

Post that, the actress's list of films for 2013 includes "Chennai Express", in which she plays a Tamilian girl, "Ram Leela", in which she dons a Gujarati avatar and "Yeh Jawani Hai Deewani", in which she will sport a very simple, girl-next-door look.

The-27-year-old, who was recently in the capital to promote "Race 2", says her character in the action thriller is very relatable.

"My character Elena in the film, is a lot more bold, edgy and sexier. I play an intelligent and shrewd businesswoman. I have been styled like that in the film too. It is very glamorous, yet relatable," she said.

"Race 2", the sequel to 2008 hit film "Race", is expected to be laden with action scenes. Will the audience get to see Deepika doing some stunts?

"The movie is true to the brand 'Race'. It very gripping and edgy. There is action in the movie, but you won't see me doing any action. There is one car chase sequence in the second half of the movie. Apart from that, there is no real action that I am doing in the movie. But I would definitely love to do action," she said.

Deepika made her Bollywood debut in 2007 opposite Shah Rukh Khan in Farah Khan's "Om Shanti Om". She is working with King Khan once again for "Chennai Express", and admits she is more comfortable than ever with him.

"It was very good. Exactly the same like 'Om Shanti Om', but this time I am more comfortable around him. In 'Om Shanti Om', I was trying to learn and absorb as much as possible," she said.

Post "Om Shanti Om", Deepika went on to do films like "Bachna Ae Haseeno", "Love Aaj Kal", "Karthik Calling Karthik", "Break Ke Baad", "Aarakshan" and "Desi Boyz".

She will also be seen with superstar Rajinikanth in Tamil period film "Kochadaiyaan".

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Shah Rukh Khan Thumbnail

Shah Rukh Khan

Farah Khan Thumbnail

Farah Khan