Creativity is dead in dailysoaps:Director of HAHIL

Mr.Chief thumbnail
Anniversary 11 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 11 years ago

Creativity is now dead in daily soaps: Director Dharam Verma

Director of Hum Aapke Hai In-Laws on SAB TV, Dharam Verma is a man who handles every single motion with his deft management. He is the man who brings out the reality from a well-scripted scene and makes us laugh.

Tellychakkar.com corners the experienced director on the sidelines of his shoot and sits across him for a candid interview.
Excerpts:

Tell us something about yourself?

The first TV show which I directed was Daddy Samjha Karo which was aired on SAB TV in 1994, the period when I got active as a director. Earlier, I worked as an assistant director (AD) of Sudhir Mishra. For me, Lapataganj was a building block of my career because that is the show which belonged to me. In the sense that I was the director of the show from the start till the end and I feel that it's my privilege that I have completed 750 episodes with no interruption. For me, TV has become my identity and will continue to work for more television shows. As a director, my keen interest lies in comedy shows; hence you will find that my list of shows are full of only those of comedy.

What is your present work profile?

Right now, I am directing Hum Aapke Hai In-Laws that is a romantic comedy in which you will see love in all forms including taking care of elders. The perfect word will be love for in laws.

What interests you more; television or films?

Since the beginning, I have worked very honestly in television medium; hence my interests lie with small screen. It's not that I have no got offers for films, but I don't want to opt for that medium because once I shift into filmmaking, then I won't be able to come back to television. For me, direction is not a comparison between film and daily soap; it is about the quality of my direction where can I use my talent the most.