Book Talk

Looking for Alaska; the labyrinth of suffering.

incognito. thumbnail
Anniversary 11 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail + 5
Posted: 9 years ago
Hello, fellow bibliophiles who are finding their way out of the labyrinth of suffering. 

Okay so I'm not good at book reviews and this shall get messy, it will.
Deal with that, you.

The first book of John Green that I read was, The fault in our stars, yeah the book that made many of you shed tears, however on the other side, I didn't find an appropriate reason to do so, considering the abhorrence that I'm filled with when I hear or read about love and romance. A romantic, rather cloying lovestory << those are the exact words that I used when people asked about the novel. Wait, before you start wondering, after such an experience how did this lady decided to read another Young Adult novel by the same author, I'd explicitly tell you one thing, I liked John Green's writing style, superlative might be the right word to define it. I'm that sort of a bibliophile, who will read a book that belongs to a genre she isn't fond of just because I like how the author is able to render a threadbare topic beautifully and interestingly with their astoundingly phenomenal writing skills.Basically it is all there in John Green's writing style, he possesses those prerequisite skills that are needed to render any romantic, mawkish or cloying story interestingly and that is what won me over.
I bought the book and while I was busy reading the Hunger Games' series, my cousin borrowed the book and once she was done, I asked her to review it and guess what, that woman didn't like it and that made me think the book might be another romantic-rather-cloying-lovestory by the author who is miraculous with words but now I'm wondering how come she didn't like it? 😳 With that being said, I was skeptic before reading it but as mentioned before, I was perpetuated to read it because of John's writing skills.