‘I always wanted to be an actress’

•  
  • Page of 1 Go
  •  
Posted: 17 years ago

Why did you quit Kahiin To Hoga?
(Laughs) I've been doing it for over three years and the feeling of saturation had begun to set in. I also felt that there wasn't much for me to do. So I decided to move on.

Was there a problem regarding you quitting the show?
Not at all. It was a very amicable parting. I have no problems with Balaji at all. I'd still take up another serial with them if they have something interesting to offer me. My character, Mehak, was important but it was getting monotonous. My role had stopped giving me satisfaction. So I felt it's best to quit it rather than do a show I didn't want to be a part of. Besides, I was offered Tumhari Disha in which I was to play the lead role. It was a tempting offer I couldn't resist.

What role are you playing in Tumhari Disha?
The serial has taken a leap and I'm playing Kaamna. The show is winding up soon as it hasn't been given an extension. Now I'm looking for fresh projects. Something new will be finalised soon. I'm looking for substantial meaty roles. They don't necessarily have to be lead roles. What's important is that the character has to make a difference to the show.

How does it feel being a Balaji discovery?
It feels great and I'm very happy that I was a part of Kahiin... That was the best thing to have happened to me just after I arrived from Pune. The show gave me a lot of popularity.

Usually, Balaji actors don't go in for outside projects!
I felt I should try something different. Today, I feel that there are several good shows which are being made. My priority is the role not the production house.

You've had a change of husband in Kahiin ...